Album of the month – September 2017

Wow, September was a really good month for music! It’s been a delight to listen to so many good records.

Mary Epworth’s Elytral is a lovely experimental affair. Second track Last Night penetrates the brain in an alarming way, but then soothes it better again. It’s an experience I won’t forget in a hurry.

Other delights included releases by Lee Ranaldo, Lizz Wright, Lomelda and Lower Slaughter.

I really wanted to like Gigan’s latest. Great band name, great album name and cover, great song titles… It just wasn’t my type of music…

The Stargazer Lilies came a very close second this month with their record Lost, but album of the month goes to Hippopotamus by Sparks. Album number 23 and they sound fresher than most new bands today. Ron and Russell have always ploughed their own furrow, and I adore them for it. Musically and lyrically brilliant, and I want you to go and listen to it right now! Here’s the video for Edith Piaf (Said It Better Than Me):

Those ratings…

Sparks – Hippopotamus

The Stargazer Lilies – Lost

Antibalas – Where the Gods Are in Peace
Frankie & The Witch Fingers – Brain Telephone
Lower Slaughter – What Big Eyes

The Dream Syndicate – How Did I Find Myself Here?

LCD Soundsystem – American Dream
Mary Epworth – Elytral

Godspeed You! Black Emperor – Luciferian Towers

Fabiana Striffler & Quique Sinesi – Mahagoni

Lee Ranaldo – Electric Trim

Lizz Wright – Grace
Lomelda – Thx
Neil Young – Hitchhiker
The Horrors – V

Kobi Onyame – Gold

Shilpa Ray – Door Girl

Emily Haines & The Soft Skeleton – Choir of the Mind
Living Colour – Shade

Gary Numan – Savage (Songs from a Broken World)
Pvris – All We Know Of Heaven, All We Need Of Hell

Zebra Hunt – In Phrases

The Big Moon – Love In The 4th Dimension

Ringo Starr – Give More Love

Candice Gordon – Garden Of Beasts
Leikeli47 – Wash & Set
Nadine Shah – Holiday Destination
Odesza – A Moment Apart
Shannon Lay – Living Water
Tony Allen – The Source

The unfinishables
A$AP Mob – Cozy Tapes Vol. 2: Too Cozy
Alex Cameron – Forced Witness
Alvvays – Antisocialites
Anastacia – Evolution
Angus & Julia Stone – Snow
Anna of the North – Lovers
Antwood – Sponsored Content
Arcane Roots – Melancholia Hymns
Arch Enemy – Will To Power
Ariel Pink – Dedicated to Bobby Jameson
As Bahias e a Cozinha Mineira – Bixa
Baco Exu do Blues – Esú
BB Brunes – Puzzle
BewhY – The Blind Star
Bicep – Bicep
Big|Brave – Ardor
Celebrine – Tristar
Chad VanGaalen – Light Information
Chelsea Wolfe – Hiss Spun
Circa Survive – The Amulet
Comeback Kid – Outsider
Corbin – Mourn
Cut Copy – Haiku From Zero
D33J – Death Valley Oasis
David Ramirez – We’re Not Going Anywhere
Dälek – Endangered Philosophies
Death From Above – Outrage! Is Now
Deer Tick – Deer Tick Vol. 1
Deer Tick – Deer Tick Vol. 2
Deerhoof – Mountain Moves
Dinner – New Work
El Goodo – By Order of the Moose
Falgar – Las hijas del crepúsculo
Fergie – Double Dutchess
Flora Matos – Eletrocardiograma
Foo Fighters – Concrete and Gold
Galantis – The Aviary
Gigan – Undulating Waves Of Rainbiotic Iridescence
Grift – Arvet
Hercules & Love Affair – Omnion
Hiss Golden Messenger – Hallelujah Anyhow
Höröyá – Pan Bras’Afree’Ke, Vol. 1
Hundred Waters – Communicating
Jack Johnson – All The Light Above It Too
Jake Bugg – Hearts That Strain
James Wyatt Crosby – Twins
Jhené Aiko – Trip
Kaleida – Tear The Roots
Kedr Livanskiy – Ariadna
Kip Moore – Slowheart
Kiran Leonard – Derevaun Seraun
Lali Puna – Two Windows
Laraaji – Sun Gong
Leprous – Malina
Lights – Skin&Earth
Lotte Kestner – Off White
Lucas Oswald – Whet
Lunice – CCCLX
Macklemore – Gemini
Madeline Kenney – Night Night at the First Landing
Maglore – Todas as Bandeiras
Midnight Sister – Saturn Over Sunset
Mogwai – Every Country’s Sun
Moses Sumney – Aromanticism
Mount Kimbie – Love What Survives
Mutemath – Play Dead
Myrkur – Mareridt
Nick Mulvey – Wake Up Now
Ninos Du Brasil – Vida Eterna
Nolwenn Leroy – Gemme
Nosaj Thing – Parallels
Nothing But Thieves – Broken Machine
Omni – Multi-task
Open Mike Eagle – Brick Body Kids Still Daydream
Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark – The Punishment of Luxury
Paradise Lost – Medusa
Partner – In Search of Lost Time
Pearl & The Oysters – Pearl & The Oysters
Phoebe Bridgers – Stranger in the Alps
Portico Quartet – Art in the Age of Automation
Prophets Of Rage – Prophets Of Rage
Rafael Anton Irisarri – The Shameless Years
Rapsody – Laila’s Wisdom
Robert Sotelo – Cusp
Roddy Woomble – The Deluder
Rostam – Half-Light
Septicflesh – Codex Omega
Shawn William Clarke – Topaz
Sheila E. – Iconic: Message 4 America
Shout Out Louds – East My Mind
Shy’m – Héros
Sløtface – Try Not To Freak Out
Son Little – New Magic
Starsailor – All This Life
Stray From The Path – Only Death is Real
Subterranean Masquerade – Vagabond
Superfood – Bambino
Superfruit – Future Friends
Susanne Sundfør – Music For People In Trouble
Ted Leo – The Hanged Man
Tender – Modern Addiction
The Clientele – Music for the Age of Miracles
The Cool Kids – Special Edition Grandmaster Deluxe
The Flashbulb – Piety of Ashes
The Grascals – Before Breakfast
The Killers – Wonderful Wonderful
The National – Sleep Well Beast
The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart – The Echo of Pleasure
The Waterboys – Out Of All This Blur
Thumpers – Whipped & Glazed
together PANGEA – Bulls and Roosters
Tori Amos – Native Invader
Trio Da Kali and Kronos Quartet – Ladilikan
Walter Etc. – Gloom Cruise
Walter TV – Carpe Diem
Wayward Sons – Ghosts of yet to Come
Zola Jesus – Okovi

Like this post? Share it!
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on TumblrShare on Facebook