Album of the month – November 2017

I’m perhaps a tad light this month on records listened to, but then most of the ones I did have the pleasure to hear weren’t all that engaging. I apologise for not being encouraged to spend more time listening to artists seemingly unable to offer anything of interest.

I was happy to get to hear Taylor Swift’s new record. I suppose it’s nice that she made a return to Spotify for some reason or other, but I wish she hadn’t. It’s awful brash nonsense and it sounds utterly insincere.

A more positive tone now: EP of the month goes to Surfbort’s Bort to Death. Tracks Hippie Vomit Inhaler and Back to Reaction are glorious 90-second punk blasts.

I like what Eluvium has done with Shuffle Drones. There are 23 tracks, each half a minute long. The track titles explain the concept – put it on shuffle and hit play, and get a different experience every time. It’s good to have someone doing something interesting with the way we consume music digitally.

Noel Gallagher’s new album surprised me. I was going to be mean and say if you go in with low expectations then you’ll enjoy it, but it’s a genuinely good LP, varied and interesting. Track two is very pub rock but that’s forgiveable. As a Blur fan I’m obligated to dislike the Gallaghers, but 1995 was a long time ago… Water under the bridge and all that.

Album of the month goes to Anna St. Louis with First Songs. It’s a chilled out folky psychedelic sound – I can feel a Mazzy Star vibe there. It’s gorgeous. Have a listen to Fire:

Those rated and skipped albums in full…

Anna St. Louis – First Songs

Mexican Institute of Sound – Disco Popular

Sumie – Lost In Light

Flat Worms – Flat Worms
Telyscopes – The Hobbyist

Noel Gallagher’s High Flying Birds – Who Built The Moon?

Greta Van Fleet – From The Fires

Shamir – Revelations

The Staves & yMusic – The Way Is Read

Robbie Frank – Shards of Autumn Glass

Adelaida – Paraíso

Eluvium – Shuffle Drones
Loreen – Ride

Taylor Swift – Reputation

Pas pour moi
Ali Barter – A Suitable Girl
Amp Fiddler – Amp Dog Knights
Anti-Flag – American Fall
Asthenia – Nucleation
Baths – Romaplasm
Bee Bee Sea – Sonic Boomerang
Bennet Jackson – Open Curtains
Bethlehem Steel – Party Naked Forever
Bibio – Phantom Brickworks
Björk – Utopia
Brian Blade & The Fellowship Band – Body And Shadow
Bruiser Queen – Heavy High
Call Super – Arpo
Cannibal Corpse – Red Before Black
Casper Skulls – Mercy Works
Charlotte Gainsbourg – Rest
Converge – The Dusk In Us
CyHi The Prynce – No Dope On Sundays
Danitsa – Ego
Death Of Lovers – The Acrobat
Delorean – Mikel Laboa
Dillon – Kind
DJ Seinfeld – Time Spent Away From U
EERA – Reflection of Youth
Electric Wizard – Wizard Bloody Wizard
Entheos – Dark Future
Escape-ism – Introduction to Escape-ism
Evanescence – Synthesis
Fever High – FHNY
Godflesh – Post Self
Golden Teacher – No Luscious Life
Grace VanderWaal – Just The Beginning
Gregg Kowalsky – L’Orange L’Orange
Gun Outfit – Out of Range
Guy Sebastian – Conscious
Howard Hello – Election Year
Human Pyramids – Home
Ice Balloons – Fiesta
In Lights – This Is How We Exist
Ivan Ave – Every Eye
James Holden & The Animal Spirits – The Animal Spirits
Jesse Rutherford – &
Jessica93 – Guilty Species
Ken Boothe – Inna de Yard
King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – Polygondwanaland
Kygo – Kids in Love
Liima – 1982
Lost Horizons – Ojalá
M.E.S.H. – Hesaitix
Mammal Hands – Shadow Work
Maroon 5 – Red Pill Blues
Novo Amor & Ed Tullett – Heiress
OCS – Memory of a Cut Off Head
Paloma Faith – The Architect
Pauline Anna Strom – Trans-Millenia Music
Peter Oren – Anthropocene
Petit Biscuit – Presence
Pia Fraus – Field Ceremony
Pinkcourtesyphone – Indelicate Slices
Plastic Flowers – Absent Forever
Posse – Horse Blanket
Power Animal – Good Wind, Pt. 1
Proto Idiot – Leisure Opportunity
Quicksand – Interiors
Rabit – Les Fleurs Du Mal
Rone – Mirapolis
Sam Smith – The Thrill Of It All
Sampa the Great – Birds and the BEE9
Shed Seven – Instant Pleasures
Shredders – Dangerous Jumps
Spinning Coin – Permo
Stalley – Tell the Truth Shame the Devil
Stillwave – Sell Another Soul
Talib Kweli – Radio Silence
The Belbury Circle – Outward Journeys
The Zephyr Bones – Secret Place
Tove Lo – Blue Lips
Vetusta Morla – Mismo Sitio, Distinto Lugar
Viva Brother – II
Vulfpeck – Mr Finish Line
Walk the Moon – What if Nothing
Yeah But No – Yeah But No
Yung Lean – Stranger

Like this post? Share it!
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on TumblrShare on Facebook