posted on
category ,
tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Album of the month – December 2017

It’s arbitrary cut-off time. Who in their right mind releases stuff this late in the year anyway? With just one week until Christmas I’m going to be catching up on all the records I’ve liked a lot this year (as explained previously, that’s anything with a 60.00 rating or higher) and then announcing my Top 10 for 2017. Or possibly Top 50.

Album of the month for December goes to His Electro Blue Voice. Mental Hoop is noisy shouty punk, but they also understand the hypnotic qualities of the drone. Mesmerising. Have a listen:

Runner up goes to Chris Stapleton’s From A Room: Volume 2. From contemplative acoustic to hard rocking, it’s a quality release.

The new U2 album is not awful, but then why would it be? Have they not generally impressed with their music? Of course. Let’s not be snotty (what do you mean why not?). It’s not bad, and that’s okay. I think I’ve entered the realms of post-contrarianism, and that’s okay too.

This month’s rated and skipped:

His Electro Blue Voice – Mental Hoop

Chris Stapleton – From A Room: Volume 2

Nick Garrie – The Moon & the Village

Helicon – Helicon

Neil Young & Promise of the Real – The Visitor

Bdy_Prts – Fly Invisible Hero

Roy Blair – Cat Heaven
U2 – Songs Of Experience

Edward Penfold – Denny Isle Drive
Leif Erikson – Leif Erikson
Nabihah Iqbal – Weighing of the Heart

Ahnnu – Special Forces
Andy Grammer – The Good Parts
Arrows Of Love – Product: Your Soundtrack To The Impending Societal Collapse
Asking Alexandria – Asking Alexandria
Big Sean & Metro Boomin – Double Or Nothing
Booba – Trône
Boulevards – Hurtown, USA
Brockhampton – Saturation III
Chief Keef – Dedication
Cindy Wilson – Change
Coma Cinema – Loss Memory
Danielle Bradbery – I Don’t Believe We’ve Met
Darin – Tvillingen
Dead Fader – Jenny153
Diablo Swing Orchestra – Pacifisticuffs
Dizzy Wright – State of Mind 2
Equiknoxx – Colón Man
Eminem – Revival
Fabolous & Jadakiss – Friday On Elm Street
G-Eazy – The Beautiful & Damned
Glassjaw – Material Control
GRMLN – Out of Disorder
Honningbarna – Voldelig lyd
Hopsin – No Shame
J-Walk – Limelight Nights
Juicy J – Rubba Band Business
K. Michelle – KIMBERLY: The People I Used To Know
M. Craft – Blood Moon Deconstructed
Makeup and Vanity Set – Syncro
Mario Batkovic – Mario Batkovic
Miguel – War & Leisure
Monster Rally – Flowering Jungle
N.E.R.D. – No-one Ever Really Dies
Nicholas Krgovich – In an Open Field
Operation: Mindcrime – The New Reality
Ore – Belatedly
Pale – Pale
Prurient – Rainbow Mirror
Rews – Pyro
Roy Woods – Say Less
Serpent Power – Electric Looneyland
Shy Glizzy – Quiet Storm
Special Explosion – To Infinity
Stas THEE Boss – Voices
Statik Selektah – 8
Taake – Kong Vinter
The Eskies – And Don’t Spare The Horses
The Just Joans – You Might Be Smiling Now…
The Moonlandingz – Interplanetary Class Classics
The Palms – Mulholland Dr.
Tom Rogerson with Brian Eno – Finding Shore
Total Control – Laughing At The System
Virginia Wing – Tomorrow’s Gift
Walker Hayes – boom.
Xenoula – Xenoula
Yombe – GOOOD
Z-Ro – Codeine

Like this post? Share it!
Tweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Share on TumblrShare on Facebook